Skip to content

OS X gone ; Hello Linux on a MacBook pro !

March 13, 2013

Installing Linux on MacBook Pro.

I find Apple to be a closed operating system that weirdly uses Unix at its core.

I have recently bought a 2nd hand 2007 MacBook Pro that has the following spec: –

  • 17″ Screen
  • 2 GB Memory
  • 160 GB Hard Drive
  • 2.6 GHz Intel Dual Core Power Based Processor
  • OS X 10.5.8

I intend to install a Linux distribution to replace the current OS X 10.5.8 that is already installed on the MacBook Pro.

My current understanding to do the above is that I need to do the following: –

  1. Put the Linux Mint 14 Nadia 32 bit distribution in the drive and boot this DVD up to install it onto the system. I found out that my CPU was a 32 bit processor by checking this website out.

I booted up the Apple MacBook Pro and held the “alt” button after I heard the laptop start sound and clicked to boot from the CD drive which said “windows”. To be honest that was enough to bring up the Live CD to have a play with and then I went ahead and installed Linux Mint onto the machine. Now i’m happy 🙂

Oh for anyone that might want to do this, make note that to right click you need to put 2 fingers on the touch pad and then click.

PS. I was going to install Yellow Dog Linux PowerPC edition onto the MacBook Pro but for some reason it would  not bootup from the DVD, ah well as long as I have a Debian/Yum based installation distribution, I’ll be alright.

From → Linux

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

